When the phone number is visible
- If you add someone as a phone contact and write them a message, the recipient will be able to see your number.
- If you contact a user via username, forwarded message or group, your number remains 'unknown' until it's shared.
- Once the number is shared, you will always see it — even if you delete it from your contacts list. No reason to hide it again.
- Your mutual contacts (people in your contacts who also have your number) will get your new number added to your contact in their address book unless you have blocked them in Telegram. This makes changing numbers even easier.
If you want to hide your new number, you can either block these users or create a new account with this new number.