Automatic Account Deletion
Automatic account deletion is a setting in Telegram, where if a user does not use Telegram for a specific duration, the user's account will be automatically deleted.
Telegram Settings → Privacy and Security
Inactive duration can be set to:
- 1 Month
- 3 Months
- 6 Months (Default)
- 12 Months
- Automatic account destruction was introduced on November 19, 2014.
- Users on older clients must update their client to change the account destruction setting.
- Account destruction setting defaults to 6 months, if the user has never changed the setting.
- So for instance, with the default setting, after 6 months of inactivity, the user's account will be automatically deleted.