Telegram Cache on Android devices
Since December 2015 it's possible to clear the cache via Telegram Settings → Cache-Settings. It will wipe the data from
This is the folder structure of the Android Telegram app.
App Cache for Cloud Chats
/storage |-- sdcard0 or sdcard1 (depends on phone) | -- Telegram | -- Telegram Images | -- Telegram Documents | -- Telegram Audio | -- Telegram Video
Android Cache for Telegram
/storage |-- sdcard | -- android | -- data | -- org.telegram.messenger | -- cache
The cache folder is the Android cache folder for Telegram.
Manually Saved Images
/storage |-- sdcard | -- Pictures | -- Telegram
This path is used when you open an image →
Save to Gallery. A copy of the image is saved into this folder.
/android/data/org.telegram.messenger/cache (aka the Android Cache) Telegram app keeps small avatars, media / file previews, temporary files, and Secret Chat media / documents.
The app moves files (images, videos, voice messages, and 'files') which were received in Cloud Chats to
Telegram/<Telegram sub folders>.
Why is it this way? The main reason for having Telegram Images, Videos, etc. folders is because users would like to save all incoming images to the gallery.
Why not in the
If media scan intent runs, there will be an album called Cache.
Why no sub folder in
If you clear the cache, you will get many non-working images in the gallery.
After moving the files - which is done automatically - it's no longer the “official Android cache”, so it's not cleared via
Android Settings > Apps > Telegram > Clear Cache. If you delete the cache (
Android Settings → Apps → Telegram → Clear Cache), cached profile images and even files from Secret Chats are deleted. In the Secret Chat, you have to manually download each file again from the Telegram Cloud.
Save to Gallery in Telegram Settings
The Telegram app runs media scan intent, so the system knows what to do with the files. In other words, Android takes care of the files in its own database. So it knows when an image is or is not allowed to be displayed in the gallery.
- You receive the images yes.jpg, no.jpg, and yes2.jpg.
- You select
Save to Galleryfor yes.jpg and yes2.jpg.
- In the Gallery, you will see yes.jpg and yes2.jpg.
- The gallery will not display no.jpg.
file name = “datacenterId_localId.extension”
File names cannot be changed at the moment. If the file names are changed and the user relogs, Telegram would have to re-download all the files, since it would not know which name belongs to which file.
If you delete the content in
Telegram/*, the files will be re-downloaded again if you see an image or an audio message. This can be prevented by disabling auto-downloads in the Telegram settings. After disabling auto-downloads, you can manually remove files with a file explorer.
Settings → Apps → Telegram → Clear Cache to delete the content of
Cached images from inline bots
If the content is already cached by the Telegram servers it will be stored in the Telegram folder, otherwise it's in the cache folder.
If you delete the cache (
Android Settings → Apps → Telegram → Clear Cache), cached profile images and even files from Secret Chats are deleted. In the Secret Chat, you need to manually download each file again from the cloud in case it wasn't purged from the server, yet.